Wikipedia:Picture of the day/August 2018

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Featured content:

Featured picture tools:

A monthly archive of Wikipedia's featured pictures



These featured pictures previously appeared (or shall appear) as Picture of the day as scheduled below. You can add the automatically updating Picture of the day to your userpage or talk page using {{pic of the day}} (text version) or {{POTD}} (short version). For instructions on how to make custom POTD layouts, see Wikipedia:Picture of the day.


Purge server cache


August 1 - Wed

I-35W Mississippi River bridge collapse
The I-35W Mississippi River bridge was an eight-lane, steel truss arch bridge that carried Interstate 35W across the Saint Anthony Falls of the Mississippi River in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Once the third busiest bridge in the state, it suddenly collapsed on August 1, 2007, killing 13 and injuring 145. Rescue of people stranded on the bridge was complete in three hours, while recovery of the victims—involving 75 local, state and federal agencies—took three weeks. An NTSB investigation cited a design flaw as the likely cause of the collapse, noting that a too-thin gusset plate ripped along a line of rivets.Photograph: Kevin Rofidal, United States Coast Guard; edit: Papa Lima Whiskey

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.

August 2 - Thu

create

August 3 - Fri

create

August 4 - Sat

create

August 5 - Sun

Ambroise Thomas
Ambroise ThomasPhotograph: Wilhelm Benque; restoration: Adam Cuerden

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.

August 6 - Mon

Rufous-tailed flycatcher
A rufous-tailed flycatcher (Myiarchus validus) in Jamaica. Jamaica gained independence from the United Kingdom on 6 August 1962.Photograph: Charles J. Sharp

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.

August 7 - Tue

create

August 8 - Wed

create

August 9 - Thu

create

August 10 - Fri

create

August 11 - Sat

create

August 12 - Sun

create

August 13 - Mon

create

August 14 - Tue

create

August 15 - Wed

create

August 16 - Thu

create

August 17 - Fri

create

August 18 - Sat

create

August 19 - Sun

create

August 20 - Mon

Benjamin Harrison

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.

August 21 - Tue

PlayStation Vita

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.

August 22 - Wed

create

August 23 - Thu

create

August 24 - Fri

create

August 25 - Sat

create

August 26 - Sun

create

August 27 - Mon

create

August 28 - Tue

Goethe in the Roman Campagna

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.

August 29 - Wed

create

August 30 - Thu

create

August 31 - Fri

White peacock butterfly
White peacock butterfly (Anartia jatrophae jatrophae from Tobago. Trinidad and Tobago gained its independence on 31 August 1962.Photograph: Charles J. Sharp

view - edit - create protected version To create the protected version, replace the first line with {{subst:POTD row and save it.


Picture of the day archive



Today is Friday, June 22, 2018; it is now 07:58 UTC

Retrieved from "https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Wikipedia:Picture_of_the_day/August_2018&oldid=826176689"
This content was retrieved from Wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Picture_of_the_day/August_2018
This page is based on the copyrighted Wikipedia article "Wikipedia:Picture of the day/August 2018"; it is used under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License (CC-BY-SA). You may redistribute it, verbatim or modified, providing that you comply with the terms of the CC-BY-SA