Timeline of the 2007 Atlantic hurricane season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Season summary map

This timeline documents all the storm formations, strengthening, weakening, landfalls, extratropical transitions, as well as dissipation during the 2007 Atlantic hurricane season. The season officially began on June 1, 2007, and ended on November 30, although Subtropical Storm Andrea and Tropical Storm Olga formed outside the official parameters, on May 9 and December 11, respectively. The timeline also includes information which was not operationally released, meaning that information from post-storm reviews by the National Hurricane Center, such as information on a storm that was not operationally warned on, have been included.

During the year, a total of 17 tropical cyclones, 15 tropical storms, six hurricanes and two major hurricanes formed. The most intense hurricane, Dean, tied for the seventh most intense Atlantic hurricane ever recorded as well as the third most intense Atlantic hurricane at landfall. The season was one of only four on record for the Atlantic with more than one Category 5 storm. It was the second on record in which an Atlantic hurricane, Felix, and an eastern Pacific hurricane, Henriette, made landfall on the same day. September had a record-tying eight storms, although the strengths and durations of most of the storms were low. Aside from Dean and Felix, none of the storms exceeded Category 1 intensity.[1]


Timeline of storms

Tropical Storm Olga (2007) Hurricane Noel (2007) Tropical Depression Fifteen Tropical Storm Melissa (2007) Hurricane Lorenzo (2007) Hurricane Karen (2007) Tropical Storm Jerry (2007) Tropical Depression Ten (2007) Hurricane Humberto (2007) Tropical Storm Ingrid (2007) Tropical Storm Gabrielle (2007) Hurricane Felix (2007) Tropical Storm Erin (2007) Hurricane Dean (2007) Tropical Storm Chantal (2007) Tropical Storm Barry (2007) Subtropical Storm Andrea (2007) Saffir–Simpson Hurricane Scale

May

May 9
Subtropical Storm Andrea off the coast of Florida
May 10
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) – Subtropical Storm Andrea weakens into a subtropical depression.[2]
May 11
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC May 11) – Subtropical Depression Andrea degenerates into a remnant low.[2]

June

June 1
June 2
  • 10 a.m. EDT (1400 UTC) – Tropical Storm Barry weakens into a tropical depression as it makes landfall near Tampa Bay with 35 mph (55 km/h) winds.[4]
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC June 3) – Tropical Depression Barry becomes extratropical.[4]

July

July 30
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC July 31) – Tropical Depression Three forms 270 miles (430 km) north-northwest of Bermuda.[5]
July 31
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Three is upgraded to Tropical Storm Chantal.[5]

August

August 1
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Chantal becomes extratropical.[5]
August 13
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Four forms 520 miles (840 km) west-southwest of the southernmost Cape Verde islands.[6]
August 14
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Four is upgraded to Tropical Storm Dean.[6]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC August 15) – Tropical Depression Five forms in Central Gulf of Mexico.[7]
August 15
  • 1 p.m. CDT (1800 UTC) – Tropical Depression Five is upgraded to Tropical Storm Erin.[7]
August 16
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Dean is upgraded to Hurricane Dean.[6]
  • 5:30 a.m. CDT (1030 UTC) – Tropical Storm Erin makes landfall near San José Island, Texas with 35 mph (65 km/h).[nb 1][7]
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Storm Erin is downgraded to a tropical depression.[7]
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Hurricane Dean is upgraded to a Category 2 hurricane.[6]
August 17
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Erin is downgraded to a remnant low about 50 nautical miles south of San Angelo, Texas.[7]
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) – Hurricane Dean is upgraded to a Category 3 hurricane, becoming the first major hurricane of the season.[6]
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC August 18) – Hurricane Dean is upgraded to a Category 4 hurricane.[6]
August 18
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Hurricane Dean is upgraded to a Category 5 hurricane.[6]
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) – Hurricane Dean is downgraded to a Category 4 hurricane.[6]
August 20
Hurricane Dean near its first landfall.
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC August 21) - Hurricane Dean is re-upgraded to a Category 5 hurricane.[6]
August 21
  • 3:30 a.m. CDT (0830 UTC) – Hurricane Dean makes landfall near Majahual, Mexico with 175 mph (280 km/h) winds.[6]
August 22
  • c. 11:30 a.m. CDT (1630 UTC) – Hurricane Dean is again upgraded to a Category 2 hurricane.[6]
  • 11:30 a.m. CDT (1630 UTC) – Hurricane Dean makes its second landfall, near Tecolutla, Veracruz with 100 mph (160 km/h) winds.[6]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC August 23) – Hurricane Dean is downgraded to a tropical depression inland over Mexico.[6]
August 23
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Dean dissipates inland over Mexico.[6]
August 31
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Six forms east of the Windward Islands.[8]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 1) – Tropical Depression Six is upgraded to Tropical Storm Felix.[8]

September

September 1
  • 4:45 a.m. AST (0845 UTC) – Tropical Storm Felix makes landfall on Grenada with 50 mph (85 km/h) winds.[8]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 2) – Tropical Storm Felix is upgraded to Hurricane Felix.[8]
September 2
Hurricane Felix near peak intensity, as seen from the International Space Station.
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Hurricane Felix is upgraded to a Category 2 hurricane.[8]
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Hurricane Felix is upgraded to a Category 4 hurricane.[8]
September 3
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Hurricane Felix is upgraded to the second Category 5 hurricane of the season.[8]
September 4
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) – Hurricane Felix makes landfall near Punta Gorda, Nicaragua with 160 mph (260 km/h) winds.[8]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 5) – Hurricane Felix is downgraded to a tropical storm.[8]
September 5
  • 2 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Felix is downgraded to a tropical depression.[8]
  • 8 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Felix is downgraded to a remnant low.[8]
September 7
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC September 8) – Subtropical Storm Gabrielle forms 385 mi (620 km) South-East of Cape Lookout, North Carolina.[9]
September 8
September 9
September 10
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Gabrielle is downgraded to a tropical depression.[9]
September 11
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Gabrielle dissipates.[9]
September 12
September 13
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Humberto is upgraded to Hurricane Humberto.[11]
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Eight is upgraded to Tropical Storm Ingrid.[10]
  • 2 a.m. CDT (0700 UTC) – Hurricane Humberto makes landfall just east of High Island, Texas with 90 mph (150 km/h) winds.[11]
  • 1 a.m. CDT (1800 UTC) – Hurricane Humberto is downgraded to a tropical storm.[11]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 14) – Tropical Storm Humberto is downgraded to a tropical depression.[11]
September 14
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Humberto is downgraded to a low.[11]
September 15
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Storm Ingrid is downgraded to a tropical depression.[10]
September 17
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Ingrid is downgraded to a remnant low.[10]
September 21
Tropical Depression Ten near landfall
September 22
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Ten degenerates to a remnant low.[12]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 23) – Subtropical Depression Eleven forms in the open Atlantic Ocean.[13]
September 23
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Subtropical Depression Eleven is upgraded to Subtropical Storm Jerry.[13]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 24) – Subtropical Storm Jerry is reclassified as Tropical Storm Jerry.[13]
September 24
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Storm Jerry is downgraded to a tropical depression.[13]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 25) – Tropical Depression Jerry dissipates.[13]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 25) – Tropical Depression Twelve forms east of the southern Windward Islands.[14]
September 25
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Twelve is upgraded to Tropical Storm Karen.[14]
  • 1 p.m. CDT (1800 UTC) – Tropical Depression Thirteen forms east of Tampico in the southern Gulf of Mexico.[15]
September 26
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Storm Karen strengthens into Hurricane Karen.[14]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 27) – Hurricane Karen weakens to a tropical storm.[14]
September 27
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Thirteen is upgraded to Tropical Storm Lorenzo.[15]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 28) – Tropical Storm Lorenzo is upgraded to Hurricane Lorenzo.[15]
September 28
  • 12 a.m. CDT (0500 UTC) – Hurricane Lorenzo makes landfall Tecolutla, Veracruz, Mexico with 75 mph (120 km/h) winds.[15]
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Fourteen forms southwest of Cape Verde.[16]
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Hurricane Lorenzo is downgraded to a tropical depression.[15]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 29) – Tropical Depression Lorenzo dissipates inland Mexico.[15]
September 29
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Fourteen is upgraded to Tropical Storm Melissa.[16]
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Karen is downgraded to a tropical depression.[14]
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Karen is downgraded to a low just to the east of the Leeward Islands.[14]
September 30
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Melissa is downgraded to a tropical depression.[16]
  • 1 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Depression Melissa degenerates into a remnant low.[16]

October

October 11
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Fifteen forms east of Bermuda.[17]
October 12
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC October 13) – Tropical Depression Fifteen degenerates into a remnant low.[17]
October 27
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC October 28) – Tropical Depression Sixteen forms in the central Caribbean Sea.[18]
October 28
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Sixteen strengthens into Tropical Storm Noel.[18]
October 29
  • 3 a.m. EDT (0700 UTC) – Tropical Storm Noel makes its first landfall in Jacmel, Haiti with 50 mph (85 km/h) winds.[18]
October 30
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Noel makes its second landfall near Guardalavaca, Cuba with 60 mph (95 km/h) winds.[18]

November

Tropical Storm Noel passing over the Bahamas
November 1
  • 9:15 a.m. EDT (1315 UTC) – Tropical Storm Noel makes its third landfall on Andros, Bahamas, with winds of 60 mph (95 km/h).[18]
  • 1:15 a.m. EDT (1745 UTC) – Tropical Storm Noel makes its fourth landfall on New Providence, Nassau, Bahamas, with winds of 65 mph (100 km/h).[18]
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC November 2) – Tropical Storm Noel strengthens into Hurricane Noel.[18]
November 2
  • 8 p.m EDT (0000 UTC November 3) – Hurricane Noel becomes extratropical.[18]
November 30
  • 11:59 p.m EST (0459 UTC December 1) – The 2007 hurricane season officially ends.[3]

December

December 10
  • 9:45 p.m. AST (0045 UTC December 11) – Subtropical Storm Olga forms north of Puerto Rico.[19]
December 11
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Subtropical Storm Olga makes landfall in north central Puerto Rico, just west of Vega Baja, with 45 mph (75 km/h) winds.[19]
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Subtropical Storm Olga is reclassified as Tropical Storm Olga.[19]
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Storm Olga makes landfall just south of Punta Cana, Dominican Republic with 60 mph (95 km/h) winds.[19]
December 12
  • 1 p.m. EST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Storm Olga weakens to a tropical depression.[19]
  • 7 p.m. EST (0000 UTC December 13) – Tropical Depression Olga degenerates into a remnant low in the Caribbean Sea.[19]

See also

Notes

  1. ^ The figures for maximum sustained winds and position estimates are rounded to the nearest 5 units (knots, miles, or kilometers), following the convention used in the National Hurricane Center's operational products for each storm. All other units are rounded to the nearest digit.

References

  1. ^ NHC Hurricane Research Division. "Atlantic Hurricane Best Track (1950-present)". NOAA. Archived from the original on 2008-09-16. Retrieved 2008-08-22. 
  2. ^ a b c Jamie R. Rhome; Jack Beven; Mark Willis (2007-07-01). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Subtropical Storm Andrea (AL012007)" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2007-07-02. 
  3. ^ a b Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory, Hurricane Research Division. "Frequently Asked Questions: When is hurricane season?". NOAA. Archived from the original on 2006-07-18. Retrieved 2008-08-21. 
  4. ^ a b c d Lixion Avila (2007-06-22). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Barry (AL022007)" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2007-06-23. 
  5. ^ a b c Richard J. Pasch (2007-10-18). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Chantal" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  6. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k l m n James L. Franklin (2008-02-19). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Dean" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  7. ^ a b c d e Richard D. Knabb (2008-04-07). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Erin" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-04-11. 
  8. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k Jack Beven (2008-01-16). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Felix" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  9. ^ a b c d e Daniel P. Brown (2007-10-29). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Gabrielle" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  10. ^ a b c d Michelle Mainelli (2007-10-17). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Ingrid" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  11. ^ a b c d e f Eric S. Blake (2007-11-28). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Humberto" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  12. ^ a b c d Jamie R. Rhome (2007-10-15). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Depression Ten" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  13. ^ a b c d e Lixion A. Avila (2007-10-24). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Jerry" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  14. ^ a b c d e f Richard J. Pasch (2007-11-27). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Karen" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  15. ^ a b c d e f James L. Franklin (2007-10-18). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Lorenzo" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  16. ^ a b c d Richard D. Knabb (2007-10-13). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Melissa" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  17. ^ a b Jack Beven (2007-11-22). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Depression Fifteen" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  18. ^ a b c d e f g h Daniel P. Brown (2007-12-17). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Noel" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
  19. ^ a b c d e f Michelle Mainelli (2008-01-24). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Olga" (PDF). National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-02-22. 
Retrieved from "https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Timeline_of_the_2007_Atlantic_hurricane_season&oldid=781213817"
This content was retrieved from Wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_the_2007_Atlantic_hurricane_season
This page is based on the copyrighted Wikipedia article "Timeline of the 2007 Atlantic hurricane season"; it is used under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License (CC-BY-SA). You may redistribute it, verbatim or modified, providing that you comply with the terms of the CC-BY-SA