Timeline of the 1982 Atlantic hurricane season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Track map of all storms during the season

The 1982 Atlantic hurricane season was an inactive Atlantic hurricane season, during which five tropical cyclones formed.[1] The season officially began on June 1, 1982, and ended on November 30, dates which conventionally limit the period of each year when tropical cyclones tend to form in the Atlantic. However, most of the activity was constrained to the month of September. This timeline documents tropical cyclone formations, strengthening, weakening, landfalls, extratropical transitions, as well as dissipations during the season. The timeline also includes information which was not operationally released, meaning that information from post-storm reviews by the National Hurricane Center, such as information on a storm that was not operationally warned upon.

This season produced eight tropical depressions, of which five became named storms; two attained hurricane status, of which one became a major hurricane, a storm that ranks as a Category 3 or higher on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale.[1] Hurricane Alberto was one of four storms to attain hurricane status in the Gulf of Mexico and not make landfall. The other three were Laurie of 1969,[1] Henri of 1979,[2] and Jeanne of 1980.[3] However, rains from Alberto caused severe flooding, which killed 23 people in Cuba.[4] Hurricane Debby was the only major hurricane of the season, peaking as a weak Category 4 over the open waters of the Atlantic basin.[5] Tropical Storm Ernesto was the last storm of the season. It peaked in intensity on October 2 just below hurricane status. The storm dissipated the next day,[6] 58 days before the official end of the season.[7]


Timeline of storms

Hurricane Alberto Subtropical Storm One Tropical Storm Beryl Tropical Depression Three Tropical Storm Chris Hurricane Debby Tropical Depression Six Tropical Depression Seven Tropical Storm Ernesto Image:1982 ATL Timeline.png1982 ATL Timeline.png

June

June 1
Hurricane Alberto at peak intensity
The Atlantic hurricane season officially begins.[7]
June 2
June 3
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression One strengthens into Tropical Storm Alberto.[8]
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) - Tropical Storm Alberto strengthens into a hurricane.[8]
June 4
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) - Hurricane Alberto weakens into a tropical storm.[8]
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC June 5) - Tropical Storm Alberto weakens into a tropical depression.[8]
June 6
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Alberto degenerates into a tropical disturbance shortly before dissipating.[8]
June 17
June 18
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) - Subtropical Depression One strengthens into a Subtropical Storm and makes landfall near Spring Hill, Florida, with winds of 45 mph (75 km/h).[9]
June 19
June 20

July

No tropical cyclones formed during the month of July.

August

August 28
Tropical Storm Beryl on August 30
August 29
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Tropical Storm Beryl makes its closest approach to the Cape Verde Islands, passing 40 miles (65 km) south of the island of Brava with winds of 45 mph (75 km/h).[10]

September

September 2
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Tropical Storm Beryl weakens to a tropical depression.[10]
September 5
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 6) - Tropical Depression Three forms 560 miles (900 km) east of Guadeloupe.[1]
September 6
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Tropical Depression Beryl dissipates over open waters.[10]
September 8
Tropical Storm Chris making landfall on September 11
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 9) - Subtropical Depression Two forms 265 miles (425 km) south-southeast of New Orleans, Louisiana.[11]
September 9
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Three dissipates over open waters.[1]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 10) - Subtropical Depression Two transitions into a tropical cyclone, but is not given a number.[11]
September 10
September 11
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) - Tropical Storm Chris makes landfall near Sabine Pass, Texas with winds of 65 mph (100 km/h).[11]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 12) - Tropical Storm Chris weakens to a tropical depression.[11]
September 12
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC September 13) - Tropical Depression Chris dissipates over Arkansas.[11]
September 13
September 14
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Five strengthens into Tropical Storm Debby.[12]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 15) - Tropical Storm Debby strengthens into a hurricane.[12]
September 15
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Hurricane Debby strengthens into a Category 2 hurricane.[12]
September 16
  • exact time unknown - Tropical Depression Six forms 900 miles (1,400 km) west of the Cape Verde Islands.[13]
September 17
Tropical Depression Six on September 17
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Hurricane Debby strengthens into a major hurricane—a storm with winds of 111 mph (178 km/h) or higher.[12]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 18) - Hurricane Debby strengthens into a Category 4 hurricane.[12]
September 18
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Hurricane Debby weakens to a Category 3 hurricane.[12]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 19) - Hurricane Debby weakens to a Category 2 hurricane and makes its closest approach to Newfoundland, passing within 95 miles (150 km) of the southeastern shore with winds of 105 mph (165 km/h).[12]
September 19
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Hurricane Debby weakens to a Category 1 hurricane.[12]
September 20
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Hurricane Debby weakens to a tropical storm.[12]
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Tropical Storm Debby transitions into an extratropical cyclone over open waters.[12]
  • exact time unknown - Tropical Depression Six dissipates 750 miles (1,210 km) east of the Leeward Islands.[14]
September 23
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 24) - Tropical Depression Seven forms 365 miles (590 km) west of Nassau, Bahamas.[1]
September 27
Tropical Depression Seven on September 25
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Seven dissipates over open waters.[1]
September 30

October

October 1
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Tropical Depression Eight strengthens into Tropical Storm Ernesto.[6]
October 2
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC October 3) - Tropical Storm Ernesto transitions into an extratropical cyclone.[6]

November

November 30
The Atlantic hurricane season officially ends.[7]

Notes

  1. ^ The figures for maximum sustained winds and position estimates are rounded to the nearest 5 units (knots, miles, or kilometers), following the convention used in the National Hurricane Center's operational products for each storm. All other units are rounded to the nearest digit.

References

  1. ^ a b c d e f g National Hurricane Center (2008). "All Tropical Cyclone Tracks for the Atlantic and Eastern Pacific". Hydrometeorological Prediction Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  2. ^ National Hurricane Center (1979). "Hurricane Henri (1979) Preliminary Report Page 1". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2007-11-28. 
  3. ^ National Hurricane Center (1980). "Hurricane Jeanne (1980) Preliminary Report". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2007-11-12. 
  4. ^ National Hurricane Center (1982). "Hurricane Alberto Preliminary Report Page 2". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  5. ^ National Hurricane Center (1982). "Hurricane Debby Preliminary Report Page 3". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  6. ^ a b c d National Hurricane Center (1982). "Tropical Storm Ernesto Preliminary Report Page 4". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  7. ^ a b c Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory, Hurricane Research Division. "Frequently Asked Questions: When is hurricane season?". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Archived from the original on 2006-07-18. Retrieved 2008-11-03. 
  8. ^ a b c d e f National Hurricane Center (1982). "Hurricane Alberto Preliminary Report Page 6". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  9. ^ a b c d National Hurricane Center (1982). "Subtropical Storm One Preliminary Report Page 7". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  10. ^ a b c d e National Hurricane Center (1982). "Tropical Storm Beryl Preliminary Report Page 5". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  11. ^ a b c d e f National Hurricane Center (1982). "Tropical Storm Chris Preliminary Report Page 2". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  12. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k National Hurricane Center (1982). "Hurricane Debby Preliminary Report Page 5". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-21. 
  13. ^ Associated Press. Hurricane brushes past Bermuda. Retrieved on 2008-05-23.
  14. ^ Associated Press. Debby weakens; depression forms. Retrieved on 2008-05-23.
Preceded by
1980
Atlantic hurricane seasons timelines
1982
Succeeded by
1983
Retrieved from "https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Timeline_of_the_1982_Atlantic_hurricane_season&oldid=781213439"
This content was retrieved from Wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_the_1982_Atlantic_hurricane_season
This page is based on the copyrighted Wikipedia article "Timeline of the 1982 Atlantic hurricane season"; it is used under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License (CC-BY-SA). You may redistribute it, verbatim or modified, providing that you comply with the terms of the CC-BY-SA