New York State government holidays

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

There are twelve observed New York State holidays for state employees. Under the Attendance Rules, a holiday that falls on a Sunday is observed on the following Monday. Lincoln's Birthday and Election Day are deemed floating holidays and can optionally be observed on a later date. A holiday is observed by employees scheduled to work that day; it is not available as a regular or floating holiday for other employees.

New York State holiday name 2017 2018 2019
New Year's Day Monday, January 2 (observed) Monday, January 1 Tuesday, January 1
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16 Monday, January 15 Monday, January 21
Lincoln's Birthday Monday, February 13 (observed, float) Monday, February 12 (float) Tuesday, February 12 (float)
Washington's Birthday (Observed) Monday, February 20 Monday, February 19 Monday, February 18
Memorial Day Monday, May 29 Monday, May 28 Monday, May 27
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4 Wednesday, July 4 Thursday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 4 Monday, September 3 Monday, September 2
Columbus Day Monday, October 9 Monday, October 8 Monday, October 14
Election Day Tuesday, November 7 (float) Tuesday, November 6 (float) Tuesday, November 5 (float)
Veterans' Day Saturday, November 11 Monday, November 12 (observed) Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23 Thursday, November 22 Thursday, November 28
Christmas Day Monday, December 25 Tuesday, December 25 Wednesday, December 25

Additional New York City holidays

In addition to the official New York state holidays, New York City schools also receive the following holidays:[1]

The reasoning behind the additional holidays is said to be to recognize the cultural diversity of the city where "... homes where over 185 languages are spoken and more than 42 percent of the students come from homes where English is not the primary language."[2]

References

  • New York State 2017 Calendar of Legal Holidays for State Employees
  • New York State 2018 Calendar of Legal Holidays for State Employees
  • New York State 2019 Calendar of Legal Holidays for State Employees
  1. ^ "NYC Public Schools Kids New Holidays". 
  2. ^ "NYC Schools to Get Islamic, Lunar Holidays Off". 
Retrieved from "https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=New_York_State_government_holidays&oldid=792663484"
This content was retrieved from Wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_State_government_holidays
This page is based on the copyrighted Wikipedia article "New York State government holidays"; it is used under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License (CC-BY-SA). You may redistribute it, verbatim or modified, providing that you comply with the terms of the CC-BY-SA